PM WG weekly status meeting

Wednesday, 31-03-2011

Attendees

Name

Email

IRC Nick

Amit Kucheria

amit.kucheria@linaro.org

amitk

Vishwanath Sripathy

vishwanath.sripathy@linaro.org

vishwas

Yong Shen

yong.shen@linaro.org

yongs

Vincent Guittot

vincent.guittot@linaro.org

vingu

Amit Kachhap

amit.kachhap@linaro.org

amitdk

Steven Jahnke

steve.jahnke@linaro.org

frautha?

Mounir Bsaibes

mounir.bsaibes@linaro.org

mounir

Bobby Bhatacharia

bobby.bhatacharia@arm.com

bobbyb_arm

Srinivas Kalaga

srinivas.kalaga@arm.com

srinivas_arm

Agenda

New Action items

  • TBA

Old Action Items

  • ACTION: Vishwa/Vincent - Verify pytimechart from git.linaro.org works: DONE
  • ACTION: Amit K. - Create a table of thermal sensor info for all partners: TODO
  • ACTION: All SoC vendors - find out state of thermal support: TODO
  • ACTION: Yong - Talk inside Freescale and Freescale LT to find plans for Runtime PM adoption: IN PROGRESS

Minutes

  • 11.11 planning
    • Thermal management
      • Thermal manager now split into a libthermal library and a thermal manager daemon that will run on normal Linux and Android
      • JNI and dbus bindings are WIP
      • Conversion to thermal framework is a potentially complex change
        • Every power-related feature can potentially be a thermal related feature if it deals with frequency, voltage, number of cores, speed, performance, etc.
        • Thus, these then can be modeled as cooling devices
    • SMP power management
      • Continue work around hotplug in 11.11
        • Hotplug governor
          • several partners have some governor with differing heuristics
          • consolidate the heuristics and get the governor into mainline
        • continue to work on hotplug framework optimisations
        • cgroups optimisation to improve hotplug performance
      • Sched_mc
        • needs support on ARM for scheduling domains
        • alleviates need for hotplug in certain cases
      • idle code consolidation
        • common code for save and restore
        • works for ELBA (versatile express)
        • will use it for some other SoCs

      • cpuidle state naming (SoCidle)

        • being driven by ARM - requirements gathering in progress

WorkingGroups/PowerManagement/Meetings/2011-03-31 (last modified 2011-03-31 18:34:55)